Nitrogen Fixers and Coppice

For the front of the yard I am considering a coppice stand of Ash and Linden trees. 
Linden Trees are bee fodder and dynamic accumulators as described on Romancing the Bee’s site.  

Pollinators will also collect pollen from wind pollinated trees like Ashes. Ashes flower in March, are nitrogen fixers, and rabbits, sheep, and microbs like the leaves. The Texas Ash, Fraxinus texensis, tolerates droughts and dry soil, and needs full sun. 

Honey Locusts are also an interesting bee forage, animal fodder, and nitrogen fixer. 

About ellieearly

I was born and raised in Amarillo, Texas. I moved back to Amarillo Feb 2011 after university in at Umass Dartmouth and post college adventures in central rural Tennessee on The Farm and surrounding land. Back in Amarillo I tried staring a business called Better Kitchen Gardens. This year, 2013, the High Plains Food Bank hired me to teach nutrition and gardening at the Mavrick Boys and Girls club. I'm a "Permi" a permaculutralist! I will use this site to share my Amarillo Permi ventures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment